A foreigner’s Portuguese language journey

I arrived in Brazil earlier this year and knew that I would need to use Portuguese to survive here, but my attempts to learn the language while I was still living in London were beset with problems.

First, it’s hard to learn in a classroom in London when you have no need to use Portuguese outside the class. Of course, some artificial situations can be created, such as going to Brazilian bars, or getting my wife to only use Portuguese, but it’s not ideal and sometimes does not work – I once went to a Brazilian bar in London where the waiting staff were using Spanish. Figure that one out.

So I was hoping to pick up the language once I arrived, and I did enrol on a classroom based course at PUC-SP once I arrived. I spent a few months attending the course twice a week. It helped me get up to speed with some basics, but I had two major problems with it:

  • The pedagogy was very much based on rote learning and I did not enjoy this at all. Imagine being tested on verb conjugation when you have never even seen the verb before. My feeble protests that the test would work a lot better if they gave me some notice of what they want me to learn fell on deaf ears, often making the classroom experience very poor – endlessly getting something wrong doesn’t give you a lot of reason to turn up for the next class;
  • The fixed nature of classes twice a week always at the same time conflicted with a lot of my work commitments. I was often having to attend evening functions for work or travelling for work and therefore missing classes. After missing several in a row, I made a firm commitment to go to the classes whatever functions I should be attending for work – then I was invited to dinner with Bill Clinton in São Paulo. I went to the language class because I had resolved to not change my plans, only for me to realise later what a stupid decision that was.

So, I quit the formal classes and started using a combination of language training books and reading books designed for children to try improving my Portuguese. Of course, there is also the daily exposure of visiting cafes, bars, and even people stopping me in the street to appreciate my dog.

To a certain extent, it has worked. I’m capable of many things that I could not do when I first arrived, such as travelling the city alone, shouting at the bus driver if he does not open the door at my stop, and confidently ordering a beer or negotiating a menu. But I’m yet to become confident about working in Portuguese.

Of course, working mainly in the IT sector I am spoiled somewhat. Most executives in the IT sector can use English as a working language, so I have been able to network with people in Brazil quite easily in my own field. But it’s obvious that to get closer to these people I need to use their language, and there are many meetings I have attended – outside of the pure IT sector – where I have struggled because the participants cannot use English.

Here at IT Decisions, we have often commented on the importance of IT employees understanding English and we are negotiating with an English school so we can soon offer our own English language training completely focused on the needs of IT professionals.

But as an English person resident in Brazil, I do want to improve my own Portuguese skills and so I contacted one of our contributors, Sam Watten. Sam is British and runs a Portuguese language training school for foreigners in Brazil. He gives private classes, but unfortunately he is in Rio and I am in São Paulo. However, he also has written an entire course that focuses specifically on the needs of foreigners trying to do business in Brazil. This sounds just like what I need.

I’m going to spend the next few months working my way through Sam’s course and blogging at least once a week about my progress compared to the various other methods I have used.

I’m hoping it’s a positive experience, but only time will tell and I hope that these forthcoming comments on trying to learn the language of Brazil are of interest to other foreigners keen on doing business here.

Photo by Pascal licensed under Creative Commons

About Mark Hillary

www.markhillary.com
This entry was posted in Comment, Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A foreigner’s Portuguese language journey

  1. Diego says:

    You did well coming to Brazil. I think this is the best way for everyone to learn a foreign language, you need stay in a place where you feel forced to use a language that you set out to learn. All our Tv program schedule are in Portuguese also (such as foreign program and movies), they’re dubbed. There are feel channels where you can choose between “original audio” or in “dubbed audio” or find a movie with a subtitle in Portuguese. Try to chat with neighborhood (next door) or, stand up to a huge queue in the bank, bakery or market (you won’t have difficult to find it here… the queues) try not to get in grammar so much, Portuguese grammar are complicated, even the natives has difficult to understand it (although most of them do not know how to use). We have a ‘wide’ variety of writers, if you’re addicted to books, you can improve your vocabulary even faster, I noticed it because I’m reading books in English and they’re helping me.

    Well, there are much more things that I’d like to share here but my time is short!

    Have a happy new year

  2. Garrett says:

    Portuguese will be my 3rd language, behind French and German… I had heard a lot about Pimsleur and for US$695, I gave it a go… Like you, my first two languages were a challenge and the classroom entirely boring… With Pims, I am able to consume as much (or little) as I want, when I wanted, when I could… (they do recommend only one new lesson a day, max and I burned the CD’s to my smartphone).

    I have discovered when I have missed a few weeks, reviewing the previous couple of lessons would be all I would need to continue on (the review would last all of 10 minutes).

    From my 2 trips to SP and BH, I have been complimented on my portuguese — for me, there’s no better validation for Pimsleur than that.

  3. Lynne says:

    As you Mark I arrived in Brazil 2 years and a bit ago now and I still cannot speak the language fluently. My best tip is to watch and get into one of the soap operas (there are hundreds of them), but if you stick with one and you begin to pick the everyday language up without realising it. I am not one for soap operas but for this purpose they work.
    I noticed for you also the same as me, it is difficult to attend physical classes at set times on set days, so I have just started an online school for languages, primarily English. I am lucky in the respect the school is like a real classroom, all my students have a webcam so I can see all of them at the same time and of course they can see me, so they don´t need to even get out of their pyjamas, and it is totally interactive.
    Happy new year to you, and if you ever need, or know anyone who needs on-line classes for languages, IT, Business English or any of the TEFL certificates pass them on. GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR LEARNING.

  4. Elena Como says:

    Hi Mark!

    I’ve been working with Brazilian Portuguese learners for years through my company, Atlantico Books. I was in São Paulo last year and visited a good Portuguese class at FAAP (Fundação Armando Alvares Penteado), here’s the blog-post I wrote about it:

    http://atlanticobooks.com/blog/2011/03/29/learn-portuguese-faap-in-sao-paulo/#

    If you’re looking for a “live” class, FAAP has lots of different levels of Portuguese for Foreigners, and the campus was very nice.

    Boa sorte!
    Um abraço
    Elena Como

  5. Ilda says:

    I am Brazilian and I live in Washington-DC and I’m teaching Portuguese here. I have always lived in Sao Paulo and I would give you a suggestion look http://www.torredebabel.com.br/ I ‘m sure it helped a lot.

    Adoro São Paulo!!!!

    Boa sorte!

    Ilda

  6. I started to learn Portuguese about 11 months ago. The pace of the lectures is about right. The lecturer combines the grammar, text and conversations to make the lectures more interesting. I really enjoy her lectures. She is very helpful, flexible and adjusts the lectures to my progress an needs. Unfortunately, I had less time to revise the lectures in the past couple of months, but I still feel that attending the lectures is useful for my progress. I would highly recommend her to anybody who would like to learn this beautiful language.

Leave a comment